Add TAGS to your laws to easily locate them or to build your SYLLABUS.
Please SIGN IN to use this feature.
[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 3817, (1963-06-22)](
Highlight important law provisions.
Please SIGN IN to use this feature.

[ REPUBLIC ACT NO. 3817, June 22, 1963 ]


Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. The barrios of Magragondong, Basicao, Palpas, Miligan, Panganiran, Flores, Cuyaoyao, Agul, Binogdogahan and Caratagan are separated from the Municipality of Ligao; the barrios of Malacbalac, Malidong, Basicao, Malapay Nabalingbulod, Buyo, Rawis, Namlad, Oringon, Cagbatano, Macasistas, Sukip and Tibabo are separated from the Municipality of Guinobatan; and the barrio of Buenavista is separated from the Municipality of Jovellar, all in the Province of Albay, and constituted into a separate and independent municipality in the said province, to be known as the Municipality of Pioduran, with the seat of government  in  the present barrio  of  Malacbalac.

SEC. 2. The first mayor, vice-mayor and councilors of the newly created municipality shall be appointed by the President of the Philippines with the consent of the Commission on Appointments and shall hold office until their successors shall have been elected in the general elections for local officials in nineteen hundred sixty-seven and shall have qualified.

SEC. 3. This Act shall take effect when a majority of all the voters in the barrios hereinabove mentioned shall vote in favor of the creation of the Municipality of Pioduran, a plebiscite which shall be held for said purpose simultaneously with the general elections of nineteen hundred and sixty-three.

Approved, June 22,  1963.