Add TAGS to your laws to easily locate them or to build your SYLLABUS.
Please SIGN IN to use this feature.
[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 6712, (1989-02-17)](
Highlight important law provisions.
Please SIGN IN to use this feature.

[ REPUBLIC ACT NO. 6712, February 17, 1989 ]


Be it enacted by the Senate and Home of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. Barangays Buenaflores, Bugso, Kiadsam, Kadi, Kulaman, Malegdeg and Sewod in the Municipality of Kalamansig and Langgal in the Municipality of Bagumbayan are hereby separated from those municipalities and constituted into an independent municipality, which is hereby created, to be known as the Municipality of Senator Ninoy Aquino, without affecting in any manner the legal existence of the Municipalities of Kalamansig and Bagumbayan. The seat of government of the new municipality shall be in Barangay Kulaman.

SEC. 2. The territorial jurisdiction of the Municipality of Senator Ninoy Aquino shall be bounded as follows: Starting from a point marked "1" on the proposed plan (Southwestern corner of Lot 1302-PLS-604-D, Case 2, of the Bagumbayan Land Subdivision); due South to corner 2; thence, following the centerline upsteam of Baluan River, about 1,500 meters to cornet 3; thence, due West following the political boundary between the Province of Sultan Kudarat and South Cotabato with approximate distance of 14,000 meters to corner 4; thence, due North, 10,000 meters to corner 5 (common boundary of Palimbang and Kalamansig) thence, due North, distance of 12,500 meters to corner 6 intersecting the centerline of Tran River, common boundary of Bagumbayan and Isulan) to corner 7; thence, following upsteam of Kulaman River until the intersection of a certain creek, a distance of 2,000 meters to point 8; thence. Southeastern direction connecting Northeastern corner of Lot 415—PLS—604—D, Case 1 to corner 9; thence, following the boundary lines of Lots 415—PLS—604—D until the common corner of Lots 412 and 415—PLS—604—D to corner 10; thence, following the boundary lines of Lots 413—PLS—604—D to corner 11; thence, following the Eastern boundary lines of Lots 414, 322, 321, 225, 224, 127, and 126—PLS—604—D to corner 12; thence, due East, until the Northeastern corner of Lot 41—PLS—604—D to corner 13; thence, following the Eastern boundary lines of Lots 41, 40, 849, 850, 927, 928, 1005, 1006, 1075, 1076, 1143, 1144—PLS—604—D, until the centerline of Baluan River to corner 14; thence, following the centerline upstream of Baluan River until the point of beginning; containing an area of thirty-two thousand (32,000) hectares, more or less. Bounded on the East by the Municipality of Bagumbayan, Sultan Kudarat; on the South by the Province of South Cotabato; on the West by the Municipalities of Palimbang and Kalamansig, both of Sultan Kudarat; and on the North by the Municipality of Isulan, Sultan Kudarat.

SEC. 3. Within sixty (60) days after ratification by the majority of the votes cast in a plebiscite supervised by the Commission on Elections to be conducted in the affected area of the present Municipalities of Kalamansig and Bagumbayan within a period of ninety (90) days after the approval of this Act, the President shall appoint the mayor and other officials to hold elective positions in the new Municipality of Senator Ninoy Aquino.

SEC. 4. The new municipality shall acquire corporate existence upon the appointment and qualification of the first mayor and the majority of the members of the municipal council.

SEC. 5. All laws, executive orders, rules and regulations, or parts thereof, which are inconsistent with the provision of this Act are hereby repealed or amended accordingly.

SEC. 6. The expenses in holding the plebiscite provided in Section 3 hereof shall be taken out of the contingent fund under the fiscal year appropriations.

SEC. 7. This Act shall take effect upon its approval.


President of the Senate Speaker of the House
of Representatives

This Act which originated in the House of Representatives was finally passed by the House of Representatives and the Senate on September 26, 1988 and December 2, 1988, respectively.

Secretary of the Senate Secretary of the House of

Approved: Enacted without executive approval, February 17, 1989

President of the Philippines